North Carolina DWI
If you drive with your blood alcohol level above the legal limit in North Carolina, you’ll be charged with a North Carolina DWI. The immediate result of a North Carolina DWI arrest is that you’ll lose your license for at least 30 days. In some cases, you’ll be able to get your license back in fewer days by going to court. You may have questions about the next steps after a North Carolina DWI arrest.
Should I hire an attorney to handle my North Carolina DWI? In most cases it makes sense to get a lawyer to assist you with your North Carolina DWI charge. It helps to have an attorney who is very familiar with the laws surrounding North Carolina DWI. You should make sure you find an attorney who has experience with North Carolina DWI cases and has a good track record. In fact, lately from what we've been hearing personally you'd pretty much be foolish to NOT grab a DWI lawyer. And as you can see I'm not just saying this to try and get you to use us in any way because we're not soliciting for you to use us in any way. I just want you to make sure you at least speak with a knowledgeable NC DWI attorney about your case at the very least.
What are the consequences of a North Carolina DWI conviction? If you’re a first time offender with a North Carolina DWI, your driver’s license will be revoked for one year. Furthermore, you’ll probably be required to pay a fine, serve at least 24 hours of jail time, and serve a minimum of 24 hours of community service. A North Carolina DWI conviction can warrant harsher punishments as well. Even if it’s your first offense, you may be required to serve up to 24 months in jail for a North Carolina DWI.
Will I have to attend DWI school for a North Carolina DWI? If you’re convicted of a North Carolina DWI, you’ll be required to participate in an assessment to determine if you have a problem with alcohol abuse. Even if you’ve never had a North Carolina DWI conviction before, you’ll still be required to attend 10 hours of DWI school.
What if I refuse to take a blood alcohol content test when I’m arrested for North Carolina DWI? If you refuse to take blood alcohol level tests when you’re picked up for North Carolina DWI, your driver’s license will be revoked for at least one year by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Will I have to have an ignition interlock device in my vehicle when I’m charged with a North Carolina DWI? In some cases you’ll have to have an ignition interlock device when you’re charged with a North Carolina DWI. This will automatically occur if you have a blood alcohol level of more than twice the legal limit, or more than .16% when you’re arrested for a North Carolina DWI.