Texas DWI First Steps
In Texas, there’s a difference between a DUI and a DWI. A DUI is reserved for minors under the age of 21 who are under the influence of any alcohol. The Texas DWI is for anyone who drives with a blood alcohol level above the legal limit. After you’ve been arrested for a Texas DWI, there are some important steps to take.
Consult with an attorney about your Texas DWI. One of the most important steps you can make is speaking with an attorney about your Texas DWI. The laws in Texas are very tough on DWI offenders, so you need to make sure you have someone on your side in the Texas DWI proceedings. It’s crucial that you don’t try to go it alone when you’re facing a Texas DWI charge. Make sure you look for an attorney who has experience with Texas DWI law and will be able to give you the best help with your case. Not every attorney is equipped to handle a Texas DWI successfully.
Know your time limit. After a Texas DWI arrest, you only have 15 days to contest the suspension of your license. This 15-day window of time is crucial in fighting your Texas DWI. It’s imperative that you don’t wait to consult with an attorney or take legal action after your Texas DWI arrest.
Obey the Law After a Texas DWI. If you’ve been arrested for a Texas DWI, you may have had your license revoked. It’s critical that you don’t ignore the fact that you’re no longer allowed to drive after aTexas DWI. If you’re caught driving without a license, you can be in even more trouble than your original Texas DWI charge.
Dealing With Your Employer after a Texas DWI. Some companies will suspend or even terminate your employment after a Texas DWI arrest. One of the first steps you need to take after a Texas DWI arrest is to consult the policies and procedures for your company. Don’t talk to your employer about your Texas DWI until you’ve spoken with an attorney.
Because speaking with your employer can have such detrimental effects on your job and income, it’s important to seek legal advice before you disclose your Texas DWI to anyone. Don’t talk with employers, supervisors, or even friends about your Texas DWI until you’ve spoken with your lawyer.
By following these first steps when you receive a Texas DWI charge, you’ll be in a better position to fight it before you’re convicted.