Alaska Non Owner SR22 Insurance Information

DUI laws and penalties, fines, license suspension, sr22 filing

If your Alaska driver's license has been suspended or revoked, you will probably be required to file an SR22 form with the DMV in order to get your license reinstated. This means that you will need to purchase SR22 insurance.

If you have an SR22 requirement and you do not own a vehicle, you will need to purchase an Alaska non-owner SR22 insurance policy.

A non-owner SR22 policy only covers other drivers and their vehicles and property in the event of a future accident. It does not cover you or the vehicle you are driving. 

Alaska Non-owner Ignition Interlock

Alaska requires DWI offenders to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicles for the following amounts of time:

  • First offense DWI - at least 6 months
  • Second offense DWI - 12 months
  • Third offense DWI - 18 months
If you do not own a vehicle, you still must have an IID installed in any vehicle you drive, even if you do not own a vehicle. (These areas may be exempt from this rule.)

If you have an ignition interlock requirement, you may not be able to get a non-owner SR22 insurance policy. Contact your local DMV office for more information. 

How to Buy Cheap Alaska Non-owner SR22 Insurance

For most offenses, Alaska requires SR22 insurance for three years. However, for DWI and refusal convictions, Alaska requires SR22 insurance for five years after a first offense DWI, ten years after a second offense DWI, and twenty years after a third offense DWI. SR22 insurance is required for life after a fourth offense DWI or an unsatisfied judgment.

In any case, expect a long relationship with your SR22 policy, so it's important to find a policy that you can afford. You can compare the cheapest rates available by entering your Alaska zip code here:

For more information:

Your insurance company should be able to answer your questions. You can also email the Alaska DMV directly at or call the DMV at 855-269-5551 (or 907-269-5551 from outside of Alaska).


Additional Alaska DUI Resources

  • Alaska DUI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Alaska.

  • Alaska DUI Laws - Complete overview of Alaska's DUI laws including all offense levels.

  • Alaska DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Alaska DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.

  • Alaska SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Alaska's SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Alaska SR22 insurance.

  • Alaska Alcohol Treatment Programs -   We offer a complete listing of Alaska approved alcohol treatment programs.