Notice: If you are a resident of Iowa and your OWI occurred in Iowa, online classes are not accepted. You must attend a local class. Non-resident offenders and Iowa residents who received a DUI in another state may be eligible. We advise that you check first.
The majority of first time offenders will be required to complete a Level 1 class consisting of 12 hours of education to meet court requirements. This online course cost $189 and you may register here:
Most second OWI offenders and high BAC first offenders will be required to take a Level 2 class consisting of 32 hours of education to meet court requirements. This online course cost $479 and you may register here:
The court may order a higher Level of OWI class consisting of more hours of education. Below is a list of the higher Levels of online education we offer. Just select the class and hours the court has required to register for the class:
Just click on your County below to find a state approved OWI evaluation location, 12-hour, 48-hour, or 4-day OWI class in your area:
The majority of first time offenders will need to attend a 12-hour OWI class, also known as "drinking driver education program". This class is for all first time offenders over the age of 18 and who have been deemed by the evaluator as not having a serious alcohol or drug problem. The class is designed to help the offender better understand the need to make changes in their lives and how to prevent any future problems with driving under the influence.
First time offenders with Aggravating circumstances and second offenders will need to attend a 28-hour OWI class. The class is designed to help the offender better understand the need to make changes in their lives and how to prevent any future problems with driving under the influence.
The 56 hour class is for repeat offenders and in some cases used by the court in lieu of the 48 hour jail time for first time offenders. The 56 class does require a two night stay at the offenders expense at the location chosen by the program's director. The cost of the 56-hour class does vary based on the cost of accommodations where the class is being held.
Upon successful completion of either the 12-hour, 28-hour or the 56-hour class, the program will give you a certificate of completion and will also transmit your completion to the Department of Transportation. Depending on the program, the completion document that is sent to the DOT may be instantaneous or may take several days, depending on whether the document is transmitted electronically or has to be mailed.
Iowa OWI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense OWI in Iowa.
Iowa OWI Laws - Complete overview of Iowa OWI laws including all offense levels.
Iowa SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Iowa SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Iowa SR22 insurance.
Iowa OWI Lawyers - Contact one of our Iowa OWI lawyers today to discuss your pending OWI case.