Mississippi DUI offenses are very serious charges. This page will outline basic Mississippi DUI law and the specific punishments for each DUI offense. When you are arrested for a Mississippi DUI, if your blood alcohol level is .08% or higher you will immediately have your license taken by the MS police. The only way to protect your right to drive is to contact the Mississippi DMV and request a hearing to appeal your license suspension. You may want to talk to a Mississippi DUI lawyer to make sure your rights are protected, particularly while you await your trial date.
Also, if you refuse to take the blood alcohol test, your license will be suspended. You can file a test refusal petition within ten days of your arrest. If you do so, you can receive a temporary 45-day license that allows you to drive while you await your test refusal hearing. Keep in mind that if you refuse the test and are later found not guilty of DUI, you will still lose your license for 90 days.
A Mississippi DUI carries harsh penalties. Your license will be suspended for no less than 90 days, and it can be suspended for an entire year. It will cost you $100 to get your license back. Also, before you can get your license back, you must attend a four-week education course that costs $100. If you need to drive to and from work or school, you can apply for a hardship license after thirty days of suspension, provided your Mississippi DUI is a first offense DUI case.
Not only will you have your license suspended for your Mississippi DUI, but you will also have to pay a fine. This fine is between $250 and $1000. Jail time is another possibility. You can spend up to 48 hours in jail. Many courts prefer to ask the offender to attend a victim impact panel in lieu of jail time.
Here is a summary of the penalties you face for a Mississippi DUI offense:
Mississippi DUI laws require people convicted of drunk driving related offenses to maintain high risk auto insurance, otherwise known as SR22 insurance. SR-22 insurance is primarily provided from specialized high risk auto insurance companies that primarily only write these types of policies.
We have partnered with the largest SR22 insurance provider in the state of Mississippi and worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.
You won't be able to find a cheaper SR22 insurance policy in Mississippi for any less. Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.
MASEP is an acronym that stands for Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program and is Mississippi's statewide driver improvement program specifically for DUI offenders.
The MASEP program is made possible by Mississippi's Implied Consent Law, which means that upon applying for and accepting your drivers license you are agreeing to a chemical test if ever arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Mississippi implied consent also makes it mandatory that you attend the MASEP program if convicted of a first offense Mississippi DUI.
Mississippi DUI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Mississippi.
Mississippi SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Mississippi SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your MS SR22 insurance.
Mississippi DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Mississippi DUI lawyers today.