Nebraska First Offense DUI Laws
If you have been arrested on a DUI offense in Nebraska, the first thing you will want to do is to contact an experienced DUI lawyer. Nebraska DUI law is complicated, and there have been many recent changes. You want someone on your side who knows the law.
Nebraska Administrative License Revocation / Ignition Interlock:
The following information is valid before January 1, 2012:
Nebraska's Administrative License Revocation (ALR) is handled by the Department of Motor Vehicles. ALR states that the police can automatically and immediately revoke your driver's license if you are arrested for DUI (Driving Under the Influence). They will give you a temporary license, which is only good for 30 days.
You have the right to request a hearing to contest the revocation.Click here for the Petition for Administrative Hearing. You must mail your petition within 10 days of when the Notice of Revocation was served to you. If the results of the hearing are not in your favor, your driverâ€™s license will be suspended for 90 days for a first offense DUI.
As of January 1, 2012:
A new ignition interlock system will replace the state's Administrative License Revocation procedures. When a person is arrested for a first offense DUI, his or her driver's license will still be immediately revoked. However, as a condition of bail, he or she will have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in his or her vehicle.
Nebraska First Offense DUI Penalties:
Criminal Penalties imposed by the court are separate from those imposed by the DMV.
First time DUI offenders face 7 to 60 days in jail and a $400 to $500 fine. As a first time offender, you may be placed on probation, which means you would need to perform at least 120 hours of community service and pay a $500 fine. If your BAC was 0.15 or higher, you may face stricter penalties.
The DMV will suspend your driver's license for up to 6 months. Before they will reinstate your driver's license or issue you a temporary permit you will be required to show them proof of an SR22 insurance filing. By entering your zip code below you can complete the short form on the following page to obtain an SR22 insurance policy and filing:
As of January 1, 2012, drunk driving with a child in the vehicle is a separate criminal offense.
Nebraska SR22 Insurance:
If your Nebraska driver's license is revoked, you will need to file carry SR22 insurance for 3 years from the date that you are eligible for license reinstatement. SR22 insurance can be expensive, so you will want to compare competitive rates.
Other Nebraska DUI Resources
Nebraska DUI Laws - A complete overview of Nebraska DUI laws including fines, jail time and penalties for each offense.
Nebraska SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Nebraska SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Nebraska SR22 insurance.
Nebraska DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Nebraska DUI lawyers today.
Nebraska Alcohol Assessment & Treatment Programs - We offer a complete listing of Nebraska state approved alcohol assessment and treatment programs.