Second Offense DUI Penalties By State

If you have been arrested on a second offense drunk driving charge, it is very important that you learn your state DUI laws regarding second offenses so that you are more informed about the potential consequences you might be facing.

The following is a state by state overview of the penalties and sanctions a person faces for being convicted of a second offense drunk driving charge. For more detailed information on a state's second offense drunk driving laws, including potential jail time, fines, SR22 filing requirements, ignition interlocks, and more, just click on the state link below:



  • Alabama:  Fine:  $1100; Jail:  5 days; License suspended:  1 year; IID:  ≥ .15%; DUI class:  mandatory
  • Alaska:  Fine: $3,000; Jail: 20 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Arizona:  Fine: $500; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Arkansas:  Fine: $400; Jail: 7 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • California:  Fine: $1800; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Colorado:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Connecticut:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 120 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Delaware:  Fine: $750; Jail: 60 days; License suspended: 24 months; IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Florida:  Fine: $1000; Jail:10 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Georgia:  Fine: $600; Jail: 3 days; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Hawaii:  Fine: $500; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Idaho:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Illinois:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Indiana:  Fine: $10000 max; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 180 days; IID:  possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • Iowa:  Fine: $1875; Jail: 7 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • Kansas:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Kentucky:  Fine: $350; Jail: 7 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  varies; DUI class: mandatory
  • Louisiana:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 48 hrs; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DWI class: mandatory
  • Maine:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 6 months; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  possible; OUI class: mandatory
  • Maryland:  Fine: $500; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • Massachusetts:  Fine: $600; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Michigan:  Fine: $2200; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Minnesota:  Fine: $3000; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 180 days; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Mississippi:  Fine: $600; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Missouri:  Fine: $500; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Montana:  Fine: $600; Jail: 7 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Nebraska:  Fine: $500; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Nevada:  Fine: $750; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • New Hampshire:  Fine: $750; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • New Jersey:  Fine: $500; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID: possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • New Mexico:  Fine: $500; Jail: 96 hrs; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DWI class: mandatory
  • New York:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DWI class: mandatory
  • North Carolina:  Fine: $500; Jail: 4 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DWI class: mandatory
  • North Dakota:  Fine: $500; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • Ohio:  Fine: $350; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Oklahoma:  Fine: $500; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 6 months; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Oregon:  Fine: $1500; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Pennsylvania:  Fine: $300; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Rhode Island:  Fine: $400; Jail:10 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • South Carolina:  Fine: $2100; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • South Dakota:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 180 days; IID:  possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • Tennessee:  Fine: $600; Jail: 45 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID: possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • Texas:  Fine: $4000; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 180 days IID:  required; DWI class: mandatory
  • Utah:  Fine: $800; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Vermont:  Fine: $750; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 90 days; IID:  possible; DUI class: mandatory
  • Virginia:  Fine: $500; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Washington:  Fine: $1120; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • West Virginia:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 6 months; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Wisconsin:  Fine: $300; Jail: 5 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; OWI class: mandatory
  • Wyoming:  Fine: $250; Jail: 7 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI offense, you already know that it can be a difficult experience. Being convicted of a second DUI offense has even tougher consequences. In this article you’ll learn answers to some of your biggest questions about a second DUI offense.

What is the time frame for second DUI offense laws? In most states, a second DUI offense within a 10-year period of the first is often met with some strict sentences. For most states the timelines for second DUI offense is 10 years, but you’ll need to check your local law to see how long the time period is in your area. Having a second DUI offense within the 10-year time period will make a big difference in the results of a conviction.

Will I have to serve jail time for a second DUI offense? If you’re convicted of a second DUI offense within a 10-year period from the first offense, most states require mandatory jail time. The amount of time that must be served for a second DUI offense varies by state. It can be as few as 90 days up to a year for a second DUI offense. However, the judge can suspend much of that sentence.

Will I have to perform community service for a second DUI offense? Often, you’ll also be sentenced to 30 days of community service for a second DUI offense. That translates to about 240 hours. You may receive more or less for a second DUI offense.

Will my license be suspended for a second DUI offense? In most cases your license will be suspended if you receive a second DUI offense. Your license is usually suspended for about 3 years after a second DUI offense. In some cases you’ll be allowed to have a work permit that allows you to go only to and from work.

Will I have to have an ignition interlock device after a second DUI offense? After a second DUI offense, you’ll probably have to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. This device is used to verify that you do not have an illegal blood alcohol level before starting the vehicle after a second DUI offense. You’ll also usually have to repeat the procedure after a specific amount of time while driving. For example, every 6 minutes you’ll have to repeat the test to continue driving after a second DUI offense.

What other kinds of penalties are there for a second DUI offense? Some additional conditions of a second DUI offense conviction include mandatory driving school, mandatory probation, alcohol treatment or mandatory Alcoholics Anonymous Meetings. The judge in your case will determine your individual sentence for a second DUI offense.

In addition to nationwide second offense DUI laws this site also provides affordable SR22 insurance filings and SR22 information, DMV drivers license implications and restoration references. We can also help you find a skilled DUI Lawyer to represent you in your pending DUI case.