Third Offense DUI Penalties By State

Below is a state by state list with a brief overview of the minimum penalties a person faces for being convicted of a third offense drunk driving charge. For more detailed information on a state's third offense drunk driving laws, including potential jail time, fines, SR22 filing requirements, ignition interlocks, and more, just click on the state link below:



  • Alabama:  Fine:  $2100; Jail:  60 days; License suspended:  3 years; IID:  required; DUI class:  mandatory
  • Alaska:  Fine: $4000; Jail: 60 days; License suspended: 3 years; IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Arizona:  Fine: $3700; Jail: 60 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Arkansas:  Fine: $900; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: 30 months; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • California:  Fine: $1800; Jail: 120 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Colorado:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Connecticut:  Fine: $2000; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: permanent; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Delaware:  Fine: $150; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 24 months; IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Florida:  Fine: $2000; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 10 years; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Georgia:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 15 days; License suspended: 5 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Hawaii:  Fine: $500; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Idaho:  Fine: $5000; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Illinois:  Fine: $2500; Jail: 3 years; License suspended: 10 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Indiana:  Fine: $10000 max; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Iowa:  Fine: $3125; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 6 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Kansas:  Fine: $1750; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Kentucky:  Fine: $500; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Louisiana:  Fine: $2000; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DWI class: mandatory
  • Maine:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 6 years; IID:  required; OUI class: mandatory
  • Maryland:  Fine: $500; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 18 months; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Massachusetts:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 150 days; License suspended: 8 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Michigan:  Fine: $500; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 5 years; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Minnesota:  Fine: $3000; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: cancelled; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Mississippi:  Fine: $2000; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Missouri:  Fine: $5000; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 10 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Montana:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Nebraska:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Nevada:  Fine: $2000; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • New Hampshire:  Fine: $750; Jail: 180 days; License suspended: 5 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • New Jersey:  Fine: $6550; Jail: 180 days; License suspended: 10 years; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • New Mexico:  Fine: $750; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  required; DWI class: mandatory
  • New York:  Fine: $2000; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DWI class: mandatory
  • North Carolina:  Fine: $2000; Jail: 14 days; License suspended: 4 years; IID: required; DWI class: mandatory
  • North Dakota:  Fine: $2000; Jail: 120 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Ohio:  Fine: $850; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Oklahoma:  Fine: $5000; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 1 year; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Oregon:  Fine: $200; Jail: 30 days; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Pennsylvania:  Fine: $500; Jail: 10 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Rhode Island:  Fine: $900; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • South Carolina:  Fine: $3800; Jail: 60 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • South Dakota:  Fine: $4000; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Tennessee:  Fine: $1100; Jail: 120 days; License suspended: 3 years; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Texas:  Fine: $4000; Jail: 2 years; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DWI class: mandatory
  • Utah:  Fine: $1500; Jail: 62 days; License suspended: 1 year; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Vermont:  Fine: $2500; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: life; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Virginia:  Fine: $1000; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: life; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Washington:  Fine: $2450; Jail: 90 days; License suspended: 3 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • DC:  Fine: $2500; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: 2 years; IID:  required; DUI class: mandatory
  • West Virginia:  Fine: $3000; Jail: 1 year; License suspended: life; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory
  • Wisconsin:  Fine: $600; Jail: 45 days; License suspended: 2 years; IID: required; OWI class: mandatory
  • Wyoming:  Fine: $750; Jail: 1 month; License suspended: 3 years; IID: required; DUI class: mandatory