Arizona SR22 Insurance Quotes & General SR22 Information

DUI laws and penalties, fines, license suspension, sr22 filing

If your Arizona driver's license has been suspended / revoked by the courts for a DUI or an Implied Consent violation, you will need to provide proof of future financial responsibility in order to get your license reinstated. Most people fulfill this requirement by purchasing SR22 insurance. Alternatively, you can deposit $40,000 with the Arizona Office of Treasurer.

If your driver's license has been suspended by the MVD and not by a court, and it is your first suspension, you do not need to provide proof of future financial responsibility. You do not need to file an SR22 form and do not need to buy SR22 insurance.

If you are under an SR22 requirement, and you fail to maintain your SR22 insurance, then your driver's license, registration, and license plates will be suspended until you comply. 

How to Get Arizona SR22 Insurance



Your SR22 insurance must be provided by an insurance company that is licensed to do conduct business in the State of Arizona.

Finding auto insurance coverage along with an insurance company that can provide you with an SR-22 filing in Arizona can be tough, not to mention costly if you choose the wrong provider.  We can help you make this process a lot easier. We have partnered with the nation’s leading high-risk insurance and SR-22 filing provider to offer our visitors a special discount rate on their SR22 insurance and filings. To find out just how much Clicksurance can save you just enter your zip code below and complete the form on the following page:



How to Get Your Arizona Driver's License Reinstated

If your driver's license has been suspended due to a DUI or Implied Consent violation, you will need to do the following to get it reinstated:

  • Pay reinstatement fee of $10.
  • Pay application fee (based on age-ranges from $10 to $25).
  • File an SR22 certificate with the MVD.
  • Provide proof of ignition interlock installation.

If your driver's license has been revoked for an Aggravated DUI or subsequent DUI, the MVD will need to "investigate" your driving record. To begin this process, call the MVD and request an investigation packet. The MVD will then review your record and send you a Permission to Apply notice. You will then need to do the following to get your license reinstated:

  • Provide MVD with an evaluation from a physician, psychologist, or certified substance abuse counselor.
  • Pay a reinstatement fee of $20.
  • Pay application fee (based on age-ranges from $10 to $25).
  • Possibly take a written, vision, and road test.
  • File an SR22 certificate with the MVD.
  • Provide proof of ignition interlock installation.

If the MVD has a photograph of you on file, you can apply for reinstatement by mail or online. If they do not have a photograph, you must apply in person.

Arizona Ignition Interlock Law

If your driver's license has been suspended or revoked for a DUI or Implied Consent violation, you will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.

Even if you do not own a vehicle, you still need to comply with the ignition interlock law, so you will need to find a vehicle that you can install an IID in. (Alternatively, you can choose not to reinstate your driving privilege.)

In most cases, an ignition interlock requirement lasts for one year.

Click here for a list of Arizona ignition interlock providers.

For More Information:

For more information, call the Arizona MVD directly at:

  • (602) 255-0072 - Phoenix
  • (520) 629-9808 - Tucson
  • or 1 (800) 251-5866




Additional Arizona DUI Resources