Minnesota SR22 Insurance & Filing Information

Minnesota SR22 Filings

SR22 insurance is a specific liability policy that many states require of DWI offenders. Minnesota is not one of these states.

There is no SR22 insurance requirement in Minnesota.

However, if you get a DWI in Minnesota and then move to a state that does require SR22 insurance, then you may need to carry SR22 insurance in your new state. Similarly, if you live in another state and get a DWI in Minnesota, you may need to carry SR22 insurance in your home state.

sr22 insurance alaska



How to Get Your Minnesota Driver's License Back after DWI

To get your Minnesota driver's license back after a DWI, you will need to:

  • Pass the DWI knowledge test.
  • Pay a $680 reinstatement fee.
  • Apply for a new driver's license.
  • Sign the special review form (if this is your second offense).
  • Apply for special registration license plates (if this is your first offense with a BAC of 0.16 or higher or if this is your second or subsequent offense).
  • Enroll in a treatment program (if this is your third or subsequent offense).
  • If necessary, complete all required paperwork for the ignition interlock program.

Minnesota Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Law

If this is your first offense DWI, and your BAC was less than 0.16, you can avoid a suspension of your driving privileges by participating in the ignition interlock program for 90 days.

If this is your first offense DWI, and your BAC was 0.16 or higher and/or you had a child in the vehicle at the time of the DWI, you can avoid a suspension of your driving privileges by participating in the ignition interlock program for 1 year.

If this is your second offense DWI, and your BAC was less than 0.16, you can avoid a suspension of your driving privileges by participating in the ignition interlock program for 1 year.

If this is your second offense DWI, and your BAC was 0.16 or higher, you can avoid a suspension of your driving privileges by participating in the ignition interlock program for 2 years.

If this is your first or second offense Refused Test, you can avoid a suspension of your driving privileges by participating in the ignition interlock program for 1 year.

If this is your third offense DWI, you will be required to participate in the ignition interlock program. This will allow you to drive for 1 year on a limited license and for the next 2 years on an ignition interlock restricted driver's license. (A limited license is a temporary paper license that allows you to drive to and from work, school, and abstinence-based programs.) You will need to demonstrate no alcohol or drug use for 3 years in order to have the IID removed.

If this is your fourth or subsequent offense DWI, you will be required to participate in the ignition interlock program. This will allow you to drive for 1 year on a limited license and for the next 3 to 5 years on an ignition interlock restricted driver's license. You will need to demonstrate no alcohol or drug use for 4 to 6 years in order to have the IID removed.

You will need to provide an insurance certificate from your insurance company for the vehicle that will be equipped with the IID. You will also need to sign an ignition interlock participation agreement.

Click here for a list of Minnesota's certified ignition interlock vendors

For More Information:

Still have questions? You can reach Driver and Vehicle Services directly at 651-215-1328, 651-282-6555 TTYL, or dvs.driverslicense@state.mn.us. Send questions about ignition interlock to 651-296-2948 or dvs.ii@state.mn.us.



sr22 insurance alaska



Additional Minnesota DWI Resources