Georgia First Offense DUI Laws
The potential consequences a person faces if convicted on a first offense DUI charge in Georgia are severe and can follow a person around for the rest of their lives. It is extremely important that if you are facing a first offense DUI charge in Georgia that you speak with one of our skilled Georgia DUI lawyers immediately about your case.
A person arrested on a first offense DUI charge in Georgia will be facing two separate charges. The first charge is the crime of driving under the influence (DUI) which will be handled through the Georgia criminal court system. The second charge is the administrative 'per se' violation which will be handled by the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
Georgia DUI First Offense Penalties
A first offense DUI in Georgia will result in a fine amount of between $300 up to $1,000 plus a mandatory surcharge anywhere from 15% of the fine amount up to 25% of the fine amount plus applicable court costs.
A first offense DUI in Georgia will result in a jail sentence between 10 days and 1-year. The court may suspended, stay, or probate all but the first 24 hours of the sentence.
Drivers License Suspension
A first offense DUI in Georgia will result in a 1-year driver's license suspension period. There is the possibility of receiving a limited license immediately. A driver's license can be fully reinstated following the first 120 days of the suspension period if the person has completed the mandatory DUI schooling. once your suspension is over you will be required to maintain an SR22 insurance filing with the DMV before they will reinstate your license. You may obtain an SR22 filing and insurance policy by entering your zip code below and completing the simple form on the following page:
The minimum community service time for a first offense DUI in Georgia is 40 hours for anyone over the age of 21. Anyone under the age of 21 will serve a minimum of 20 hours community service.
Chemical Test Refusal
A first offense DUI refusal in Georgia will result in a 1-year suspension of the person's driver's license and you will not be eligible to receive a limited driving permit during the 1-year suspension period.
Georgia Administrative Drivers License Hearing
In the state of Georgia when a person is arrested on a first offense DUI charge and refuses to submit to a chemical test at the police station that person's driver's license will automatically be suspended for 1-year.
Important: A person arrested on a first offense DUI charge in Georgia who refused to submit to a chemical test only has 10 business days in which to request an administrative license hearing with the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
If you hope to avoid the 1-year license suspension it is extremely important that you contact our Georgia DUI lawyers today to schedule your administrative hearing.
At the administrative license hearing the administrative hearing officer who has been assigned to hear your case will look at the evidence against you from the arresting officer including: BAC level at the time, field sobriety test results (if you submitted to them), and whether or not you submitted to a chemical test or refuse the chemical test.
The hearing officer will also hear testimony against you from the arresting officer and hear testimony in your favor from your lawyer, yourself, and any witnesses your lawyer has subpoenaed to appear at the hearing.
Georgia SR22 Insurance Information & Quotes
First time offenders in Georgia will be eligible for a limited driving permit immediately. You will be eligible for full license reinstatement at the end of 120 days of the suspension period if you complete the mandatory DUI schooling. Once you become eligible for a limited permit or for full reinstatement following your suspension period you will be required to maintain a Georgia SR22 insurance filing with the Georgia Department of Driver Services for the next 3-years.
If at anytime during your 3-year SR22 insurance filing period with the Georgia DDS you experience a lapse in your insurance coverage your insurance provider will inform the DDS of the lapse in coverage and the DDS will immediately cancel your driver's license. Upon canceling your license the DDS will send you a letter in the mail informing you that they have cancelled your license.
In order to reinstate your license following the cancellation you will first need to bring your SR22 insurance premiums current with your insurer. Then you will have to pay another driver's license reinstatement fee to the DDS. Once those items are done you will be issued another driver's license. It should also be noted that your 3-year SR22 filing period will start all over again if a lapse in insurance coverage occurs.
Once you become eligible for a limited driving permit or to have your license reinstated following your 1-year suspension period you will need to do the following:
- Signup for a Georgia SR22 insurance policy.
- Go down to your local DMV office location.
- Pay the required $210 reinstatement fee.
To avoid a possible lapse in your Georgia SR22 insurance coverage it is important to select a Georgia SR22 insurance policy with the lowest possible premium from the start. We have created a competitive quoting environment with the top SR22 insurance providers in the state of Georgia. By entering your zip code in the box below and completing the simple 3-part quote form on the following page you will receive up to 5 very competitive SR22 insurance quotes from the top insurance companies in your area of the state:
Other Georgia DUI Resources
Georgia DUI Laws - A complete overview of Georgia DUI laws including fines, jail time and penalties for each offense.
Georgia SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Georgia SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Georgia SR22 insurance.
Georgia DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Georgia DUI lawyers today.
Georgia Risk Reduction Programs - We offer a complete listing of Georgia approved alcohol treatment & risk reduction programs.