Google+ Twitter Linkedin

Iowa OWI Laws & Penalties

Iowa OWI Laws

If you are facing an Iowa OWI (Operating While Intoxicated), then you are charged with a serious misdemeanor crime. Iowa OWI is defined as driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher. There are many serious consequences to driving under the influence in Iowa. Before heading to Iowa OWI court, be sure to talk to a lawyer to protect your rights.

 

Consequences for Iowa OWI

Your Iowa OWI case is going to cost you. When you got to court, your judge may waive some of the fines you face if you did not injure anyone or his property while driving drunk. If you cannot pay the fine, you will have to perform community service. You can also be charged with jail time. You will have to spend two days in jail, and can be convicted for up to a year of jail time. Here is a summary of the convictions you face.

Iowa First Offense OWI Penalties

  • Jail time of 2 days to 1 year

  • $1,250 in fines plus a 35% surcharge or up to 200 hours of community service

  • Drivers license revocation for 180 days to 1 year

  • Alcohol assessment and treatment

Iowa Second Offense OWI Penalties

  • 7 days to 2 years in jail or imprisonment

  • Up to $5,000 in fines plus a 35% surcharge

  • Drivers license revocation for 1 to 2 years

  • Alcohol assessment and treatment

Iowa Third Offense OWI Penalties

  • Third offense owi in Iowa is considered a class D felony offense

  • 30 days in jail or up to 5 years imprisonment

  • Up to $7,500 in fines plus a 35% surcharge

  • Drivers license revocation for 6 years

  • Alcohol assessment and treatment

Iowa BAC Assumptions

  • BAC test result taken within 2 hours of driving is considered the actual BAC level while the defendant was driving.

Iowa Implied Consent Laws

  • Chemical testing is allowed. Blood, breath or urine testing to be selected by the officer.

  • The officer must advise the defendant of the driver's license revocation sanctions resulting from test refusal.

  • BAC levels of .08% to .10% carry a 180 day license suspension

  • BAC levels of .101% to .15% carry a 180 day license suspension plus require an ignition interlock to be installed for a work permit.

  • BAC levels of .151% or greater carry a 180 day license suspension (30 day hard suspension) plus the installation of an ignition interlock device for a work permit.

  • Test refusal results in a 1 to 2 year license revocation. A work permit will be allowed after 1 year. Test refusal evidence is admissible in court.

Chemical Testing

  • Chemical test results are admissible if they are performed by a qualified person in accordance with the methods outlined by the Commission of Public Safety and the device used to perform the tests was also approved.

  • Blood draws used in police testing must be performed by a licensed physician, registered nurse or other qualified person using equipment under strict sanitary conditions.

  • The defendant has the right to an independent test following the completion of the police departments test. Any independent testing done by a qualified person of the defendants choosing is the responsibility of the defendant.

  • Test result must be made available to the defendant and his or her Iowa OWI attorney upon request.

Administrative License Revocation

If you fail a breath test in Iowa, you are also facing your license being revoked by the DMV of Iowa. For a first offender, this revocation is for 180 days, with a temporary restricted license issued immediately as long as your BAC was less than .15%.

You will have to use an ignition interlock device if your BAC was .10% or higher. Repeat offenders are looking at a year of suspension. This is why it is crucial for those facing an Iowa OWI case to seek the help of a lawyer if they want to protect their right to drive.

OWI SR22 Insurance and Alcohol Education Requirements

If you are convicted of an Iowa OWI, you will be required to attend twelve hours of alcohol education. This costs $60. You will also be required, in certain parts of Iowa, to attend a weekend program called “Intensive Weekend Intervention.” This is also a satisfaction for the two-day jail time requirement.

This program costs $285. On top of the fines and education costs, your Iowa OWI will cause your insurance premium to go up. Make sure to talk to your insurance provider so you are not surprised by the amount of the increase.

Iowa OWI SR22 Insurance Considerations

No matter if you are a first time offender or a repeat offender, your Iowa OWI will carry serious consequences for your insurance premiums. You will either find that you are dropped by your insurance provider, or you will find that your premium cost skyrockets. This can even affect your family members that are on your insurance policy.

DUI Arrest Help.com has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of Iowa and has worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.

You won't be able to find a cheaper SR22 insurance policy in Iowa for any less.  Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.

Get an Instant SR22 Insurance Quote & Filing Now!
Zip Code:
 

Other Iowa OWI Resources

  • Iowa OWI First Offense -  Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense OWI in Iowa.

  • Iowa SR22 Insurance -  Learn everything you need to know about Iowa SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your IA SR22 insurance.

  • Iowa OWI Lawyers -   Contact one of our Iowa OWI lawyers today.

  • Iowa Substance Abuse Programs - We offer a complete listing of Iowa approved substance abuse program locations.