Mississippi First Offense DUI Laws
If you have been arrested for drunk driving (driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher) in Mississippi, the smartest thing that you can do is to contact an experienced Mississippi DUI attorney. Mississippi DUI law is complicated and a lawyer can help you navigate Mississippi's legal system. What we offer here is accurate information, which is meant to be helpful, but it is no substitute for expert legal advice specific to your case.
Some people feel that they cannot afford an attorney, but hiring one can actually save you money in the long run. A DUI conviction will be very costly and something that most people are not aware of is that a Mississippi DUI conviction stays on a person's criminal record for life. The DUI process is not one that you want to go through alone.
Mississippi First Offense DUI Penalties:
When you are arrested for an alcohol-related driving offense in Mississippi, the police will take away your driver's license and will give you a temporary driving permit that is good for 30 days.
If you are convicted of a DUI, and it is your first offense, your driver's license will be suspended for 90 days. You may be able to get this suspension reduced after 30 days if you can show that the suspension causes undue hardship. (Hardship generally means that you are unable to get to work, school, or medical appointments).
After your suspension period the DMV is going to require you to have an SR22 on file with them before reinstating your license. You can obtain an SR22 insurance policy and filing by entering your zip code below and completing the short form on the following page:
You may also be fined $250.
You may also have to spend up to 48 hours in jail.
You will also be required to participate in MASEP (Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program). MASEP consists of four 3-hour sessions that happen over a period of 1 month. The MASEP course reduces your driver's license suspension from 1 year to 90 days.
You may also be required to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program.
Mississippi Ignition Interlock Law:
In Mississippi, first time DUI offenders may be court ordered to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that they drive. This requirement lasts for at least 30 days. Not all first time offenders are required to participate in this program. It is up to the judge.
Implied Consent Law:
Mississippi has an Implied Consent Law. This means that just by driving in Mississippi, you agree to submit to a chemical alcohol test if you are asked to do so. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer is a criminal offense.
Mississippi SR22 Insurance:
If you are convicted of a DUI in Mississippi, you will need to purchase SR22 insurance. SR22 insurance is a high risk auto insurance policy that proves to the State that you are fully insured. You will need to carry SR22 insurance for a period of 3 years. If your SR22 insurance policy lapses, your insurance company will notify the DPS, and your driver's license will be suspended again.
SR22 insurance can be expensive, so you will want to compare quotes and find a price that you can live with. You can do that by entering your zip code here:
Other Mississippi DUI Resources
Mississippi DUI Laws - A complete overview of Mississippi DUI laws including fines, jail time and penalties for each offense.
Mississippi SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Mississippi SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your MS SR22 insurance.
Mississippi DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Mississippi DUI lawyers today.
Mississippi MASEP Programs - We offer a complete listing of Mississippi approved MASEP programs.