North Carolina DWI Assessments & ADETS Providers
Just click on your County below to find a state approved DWI assessment or ADETS location in your area:
Getting your license back after a DWI in North Carolina
If you were charged with a DWI in North Carolina there are a couple things you are going to need to do before the DMV will reinstate your driver's license.
- The first thing you will need to do is have a substance abuse assessment completed by a state approved service provider. Those providers can be found by clicking on the County closest to where you live from the list above.
- The cost of the assessment is $100 to be paid prior to the assessment. The $100 fee is mandated by the state.
- You will need to bring the following to your assessment appointment:
- A copy of your citation if you have it.
- The document showing your blood alcohol level at the time of arrest.
- A copy of your North Carolina driving record. You can obtain a copy from your local DMV office.
- A copy of any driving records from other states in which you have lived in the past.
- The second thing you must do is attend and complete the level of treatment or ADETS program that has been recommended in your assessment analysis.
- After completing the assessment and treatment or ADETS program you must wait the imposed revocation period by the DMV.
Qualifying for ADETS
In order for you to be approved to attend an approved ADETS program versus a treatment program you must meet the following requirements during your assessment:
- You have never been convicted of a DWI or DUI in your lifetime, in any state.
- You DID NOT refuse to submit to chemical testing.
- Your blood alcohol level was 0.14% or less at the time of arrest.
- Your assessment does not state that you have a alcohol or drug problem.
If you qualify for ADETS, the cost of the program is $160.00 to be paid before the first class. There is a total of 16 hours of education to be provided over the course of 5 days max.
What if I don't qualify for ADETS?
If you don't meet the above requirements in order to attend ADETS, you will be recommended for one of the following substance abuse treatment programs:
- Short term outpatient treatment - 20 classroom hours minimum over a 30 day period. The average cost is currently $354 for short term outpatient treatment.
- Long term outpatient treatment - 40 classroom hours minimum over a 60 day period. The average cost is currently $605 for long term outpatient treatment.
- Intensive outpatient treatment - 90 classroom hours minimum over a 90 day period. The average cost is currently $920 for intensive outpatient treatment.
The costs listed above for short term, long term, or intensive treatment are the average costs. The actual cost is set by the service provider. You can find out the actual cost by contacting the provider(s) in your County.
Once you have completed both the assessment and the prescribed treatment course, your chosen provider will inform the state that you have completed your requirements. Please note that it can take up to two weeks for this information to appear in the state records.
Additional North Carolina DWI Resources
North Carolina DWI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DWI in NC.
North Carolina DWI Laws - Complete overview of NC DWI laws including all offense levels.
North Carolina SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about NC SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your North Carolina SR22 insurance.
North Carolina DWI Lawyers - Contact one of our NC DWI lawyers today to discuss your pending DWI case.