North Carolina SR22 Insurance
Find out what requirements you must meet if you need an SR22 for New Carolina & Find the Lowest Price Policies
SR22 insurance is a liability insurance that some states require of convicted drunk drivers. North Carolina is not one of these states.
There is no SR22 requirement in North Carolina.
However, if you get a DWI in North Carolina and you then move to another state, your new state may require you to buy SR22 insurance based on your North Carolina driving record. Similarly, if you get a DWI / DUI in another state, and you then move to North Carolina, you will likely still need to carry SR22 insurance in the state where the DWI / DUI happened.
How to Get Your North Carolina Driver’s License Back
In order to get your driver’s license restored after a DWI suspension, you may need to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle(s). You will also need to pay a $100 restoration fee. (Note that DMV offices only accept cash, money orders, or personal checks, not debit or credit cards.)
North Carolina Ignition Interlock Law
If this is your first DWI offense and your blood alcohol content was greater than 0.16, or if this is your second or subsequent offense within 7 years, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle(s).
The length of the IID requirement varies:
- First Offense – 1 year
- Second Offense – 3 years
- Third Offense – 7 years
There are two ignition interlock providers in North Carolina:
- Monitech, Inc. 1-800-521-4246
- Smart Start, Inc. 1-800-880-3394
For More Information:
Still have questions? Call the North Carolina DMV directly at 919-715-7000.
Additional North Carolina DWI Resources
- North Carolina DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DWI in North Carolina.
- North Carolina DUI Classes – Get signed up for your DUI class now.
- North Carolina SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DWI in SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your North Carolina SR22 insurance.
- North Carolina DUI Laws & Lawyers – Contact one of our North Carolina DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case. Also review the current state DUI laws.
- North Carolina Bail Bond Agents – Contact an North Carolina bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- North Carolina Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.