Rhode Island DUI Laws & Penalties

DUI laws and penalties, fines, license suspension, sr22 filing

Rhode Island DUI or Driving Under the Influence of alcohol and/or drugs is a very serious offense that carries some long lasting consequences. If you are arrested for a Rhode Island DUI, you need the help of a skilled DUI lawyer familiar with Rhode Island drunk driving law.

Proving Guilt

If you are pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving, your Rhode Island DUI case will be prosecuted using one of two arguments. The most common way to prove that someone was Driving Under the Influence, or DUI, is by testing their blood alcohol content. A blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is legally considered DUI in Rhode Island. However, you can still be arrested for drunk driving even if your blood alcohol content is lower than the legal limit. If you are driving under the influence, as observed by the the RI police officer, the field sobriety tests, and/or your physical appearance, you can still be arrested and prosecuted for Rhode Island DUI.

If you are pulled over for impaired driving, you will be asked to submit to the chemical test after your arrest. If you do not submit to this test, you will have an extra criminal penalty on top of your Rhode Island DUI consequences. This can be used to prove that you were conscious of your guilt when you go to court.

Punishments for a Rhode Island DUI

If you are arrested for Rhode Island DUI, you are facing punishments that vary based on past offenses. If you have other DUI arrests in your five year past (the look back period in the state of Rhode Island is set at 5 years), you will face stricter consequences.

Here is what you should expect to face:

RI First Offenders

  • Fines between $100 and $300
  • Loss of drivers license for 1 to 6 months
  • Up to a year of jail time
  • Community service for 10 to 60 hours
  • Highway Safety Assessment, $500 fee
  • Possible driver's education classes

RI Second Offense

  • A $400 fine
  • Loss of drivers license for up to 2 years
  • Jail time from 10 days minimum to 1 year
  • Alcohol assessment and treatment program

RI Third Offense

  • 3rd offense considered a felony offense
  • A $400 fine
  • Jail time from 1 to 3 years
  • Drivers license suspension for 2 to 3 years
  • Alcohol assessment and treatment

Because of the length of time that you could lose your license, it's best to get the help of a lawyer for a Rhode Island DUI case. You may be able to get a temporary or restricted license that will allow you to drive to work.

Rhode Island DUI Attorneys

DUI Arrest Help.com has compiled a list of skilled DUI defense attorneys in Rhode Island who have agreed to offer you a free initial consultation to discuss your case.  There is no obligation to use them, and you can get some great information about what you should do in this free consultation.  

Click here to speak with one of our Rhode Island DUI attorneys.

Insurance Considerations for a Rhode Island DUI

SR-22 insurance is required in the state of Rhode Island after a DUI conviction.  This type of insurance is classified as 'high risk' meaning you are a higher risk to the insurance companies so consequently they will charge more for taking on more risk.  This can get very expensive if you sign up for one of these policies with the wrong company.

DUI Arrest Help.com has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of Rhode Island and has worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.

You won't be able to find a cheaper SR22 insurance policy in Rhode Island for any less.  Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.

Additional Rhode Island DUI Resources

  • Rhode Island DUI First Offense -  Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Rhode Island.

  • Rhode Island SR22 Insurance -  Learn everything you need to know about Rhode Island SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your RI SR22 insurance.

  • Rhode Island DUI Lawyers -   Contact one of our Rhode Island DUI lawyers today.