California SR22 Insurance
Find out what requirements you must meet if you need an SR22 for California & Find the Lowest Price Policies
If your California driver’s license has been suspended or revoked for a DUI, you will need to provide proof of financial responsibility to the DMV in order to get your driver’s license reinstated.
“Proof of financial responsibility” shows the DMV that you will be able to pay for damage done in the event of a future accident. Most people fulfill this obligation by buying SR22 insurance and filing an SR22 certificate (California Insurance Proof Certificate). Alternatively, you can make a $35,000 cash or bond deposit.
How to Get Your California Driver’s License Reinstated
If your California driver’s license has been suspended or revoked for a DUI, you need to do the following things to get it reinstated:
- Pay a $125 reinstatement fee.
- Buy SR22 insurance and file an SR22 certificate.
- Submit proof of completion of a certified DUI program.
California Ignition Interlock Law
If you are convicted of a DUI, you may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. This is more likely if your BAC was 0.15 or higher at the time of your DUI, or if you refused to submit to a chemical test.
If your DUI happened in one of the following four counties: Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, or Tulare, you will be ordered to install an IID in each vehicle that you own. (If you do not own a vehicle, you can apply for an exemption.)
If this is your second or subsequent DUI, and you have completed at least 1 year of your suspension / revocation, then you may apply for a restricted license. This would require you to install an IID in your vehicle and you would be limited to driving that vehicle. (You will also need SR22 insurance in order to qualify for a restricted license.)
If you are caught driving while under a DUI suspension or revocation, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Additional California DUI Resources
- California DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in California.
- California DUI Classes – Get signed up for your dui class now.
- California SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about California SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your California SR22 insurance.
- California DUI Lawyers – Contact one of our California DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.
- California Bail Bond Agents – Contact an California bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- California Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.