SR22 insurance is a special liability insurance that many states require of DUI offenders. Georgia is not one of these states. If you get a DUI in Georgia, you do not need to worry about SR22 insurance.
However, if you live in Georgia and you get a DUI in another state, that state may require you to purchase SR22 insurance. Similarly, if you get a DUI in Georgia, and you then move to a state that does require SR22 insurance, you may have to carry SR22 insurance there.
To get your Georgia driver's license reinstated after a DUI suspension, send a request for reinstatement, a copy of your suspension notice, proof that you have completed a DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program, and $200 processing fee to:
Georgia Department of Driver Services Validation
P.O. Box 8447
Conyers, GA 30013
(The processing fee is $210 if you do the process in person.)
(If this is your second or subsequent offense in 10 years, you will also need to provide proof of a state-approved clinical evaluation.)
If this is your second or subsequent DUI, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle, and will be restricted to interlock driving for at least 6 months.
Click here for a list of approved ignition interlock providers.
For More Information:
For more information about driver's license reinstatement, contact the Georgia Department of Driver Services at 678-413-8400 or 866-754-3687, from 7 am to 5:15 pm.
Georgia DUI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Georgia.
Georgia DUI Laws - Complete overview of Georgia DUI laws including all offense levels.
Georgia DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Georgia DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.
Georgia Risk Reduction Programs - We offer a complete listing of Georgia approved alcohol treatment & risk reduction programs.