In Rhode Island, if you are caught driving a vehicle with a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher, you will be charged with DUI - Driving Under the Influence. You can also be convicted of a DUI if your BAC is between 0.05 and 0.08, if there is other evidence of intoxication.
Rhode Island enforces an implied consent law. This means that by driving in Rhode Island, you are consenting to a chemical alcohol test, in the event that you are asked to provide one. The test may be a blood, breath, or urine test. If you refuse the test, your license will be suspended for at least 6 months. You will also be fined, have to perform community service, and have to go to DUI school.
If you have been arrested for DUI or refusing to submit to a test, you will want to contact a Rhode Island DUI lawyer as soon as possible. Rhode Island DUI law is complex, and you do not want to take the risk of trying to figure it out on your own. While some people think that they "can't afford" a DUI lawyer, the truth is that they can't afford a DUI conviction either. A good DUI lawyer will likely save you money in the end.
If you are charged with a DUI, and you have not committed an alcohol-related driving offense within the last 5 years, this will be considered your first offense.
If you are charged with a first offense DUI, and your BAC was 0.05 to 0.10, you face the following penalties:
If you are charged with a first offense DUI and your BAC was 0.10 to 0.15, you face the following penalties:
Before your driver's license will be reinstated following your suspension you will be required to complete an SR22 filing with the DMV. You can obtain an SR22 insurance policy and filing by entering your zip code below and completing the short form on the following page:
If you are charged with a first offense DUI, and your BAC was 0.15 or higher, you face the following penalties:
If your first offense DUI charge involved serious injury to someone else, you could face additional penalties including: 1 to 10 years in prison, a 2 year driver's license revocation, and a $1,000 to $5,000 fine.
If your first offense DUI charge involved death of another, you could face additional penalties including: 5 to 15 years in prison, a 5 year driver's license revocation, and a $3,000 to $10,000 fine.
Rhode Island does have an ignition interlock program, but it does not include a first offense requirement.
If you are convicted of a DUI, you may be required to carry SR22 insurance. SR22 insurance is a high risk insurance that proves to the State of Rhode Island that you are in fact insured. When you purchase SR22 insurance, your insurance company will file an SR22 form with the State. If your auto insurance policy lapses for any reason, your insurance company is required by law to notify the State.
SR22 insurance can be expensive, but there are competitive rates out there. To compare some of those, just click the button below:
Rhode Island DUI Laws - A complete overview of Rhode Island DUI laws including fines, jail time and penalties for each offense.
Rhode Island SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Rhode Island SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your RI SR22 insurance.
Rhode Island DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Rhode Island DUI lawyers today.