Tennessee DUI Schools
Just click on your County below or the County closest to your location to view the state approved DUI schools and Prime for Life programs in your area.
DUI Class Requirements
Each of the state approved DUI schools is required to provide a minimum of 12 hours of instruction for each student in the class. The class size is limited to 25 students per class. If a student does not speak English, the school must provide an interpreter per state law.
The 12 hours of instruction will be separated into 3 blocks of 4 hours per session. The sessions are as follows:
- Traffic safety aspects relating to alcohol and drugs:
- Overview of the current drunk driving problems in Tennessee.
- The state laws relevant to drunk driving.
- Why you are attending the class.
- Blood alcohol levels and other drug use related to driving impairment.
- How to avoid driving under the influence in the future.
- Physiological aspects of alcohol and drugs:
- The effects alcohol and other depressants have on the human body.
- The effects other drugs have on the human body.
- The increased effect of combining alcohol and other drugs.
- Psychological aspects of alcohol and drugs:
- The dynamics of alcohol and drug use, abuse, and addiction.
- The change in behavior as a person becomes addicted.
- How alcohol and drug abuse can effect a family.
- The impact of alcohol and drug use on other aspects of your life.
- Local outreach groups in your area if you need help with an addiction problem.
Facility Reporting Requirements
Once a class has been completed the service provider is required to report to the Department of Mental Health and Development Disabilities Division the following information:
- Number of offenders who signed up for the class.
- Number of offenders who actually completed and passed the class.
- Number of offenders by age, race, and sex.
- Number of out-of-state offenders.
- Number of offenders in each severity category based on the initial screening.
The reason the state tracks this information is to analyze the effectiveness of the existing program format and to anticipate changes in DUI trends within the state of Tennessee as time goes on.
Additional Tennessee DUI Resources
Tennessee DUI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Tennessee.
Tennessee DUI Laws - Complete overview of Tennessee DUI laws including all offense levels.
Tennessee SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Tennessee SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Tennessee SR22 insurance.
Tennessee DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Tennessee DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.