Tennessee SR22 Insurance
Find out what requirements you must meet if you need an SR22 for Tennessee & Find the Lowest Price Policies
If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked due to a DUI in Tennessee, you will need to buy SR22 insurance in order to get it back. (The alternative to SR22 insurance is to wait 5 more years before reinstating your license.)
When you buy Tennessee SR22 insurance, your insurance company will file an SR22 form with the Department of Safety. This form proves to the Department that you are in fact insured.
The SR22 policy also requires your insurance company to notify the Department if you ever become uninsured. If this happens, if your SR22 coverage is interrupted, your driver’s license will be suspended again.
How to Get Tennessee SR22 Insurance
Your SR22 form must be filed by an insurance company that is currently licensed through the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance. We have partnered with the best of these to bring you the best SR22 insurance options in Tennessee.
How to Get Your Tennessee Driver’s License Back
To get your Tennessee driver’s license back after a DUI, you need to do the following things:
For More Information:
Tennessee Restricted License
If this is your first DUI offense in Tennessee, you can apply for a restricted license, which would allow you to drive to and from work, school, interlock appointments, or a court-ordered alcohol treatment program.
If this is your second offense, you can apply for a restricted license after serving 1 year of your revocation, if you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
If you wish to apply for a restricted license, you will need to:
- Obtain an order from the judge.
- Buy SR22 insurance and file an SR22 form.
- Pay a $67 driver license fee.
- Show proof of liability insurance in effect on date of violation.
- Take and pass the driver license examination (vision, written, and skills tests).
Tennessee Ignition Interlock Law
DUI offenders may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle(s) and maintain that device for up to 1 year following reinstatement.
Ignition interlock installation is required of first time offenders who:
- were involved in an accident;
- had a child in the vehicle;
- had a BAC greater than 0.15; or
- refused to submit to a chemical alcohol test.
If you are convicted of DUI twice within 5 years, you will be required to participate in the ignition interlock program for 6 months following the reinstatement of your driver’s license.
For More Information:
Still have questions? You can contact the Department of Safety directly at 615-741-3954 or 866-903-7357 or (TDD) 615-532-2281. Reinstatement information is available 24 hours a day via an automated phone system. To get this information, you will need to provide your driver’s license number.
You can also email the Department at FinResp.Safety@tn.gov
Additional Tennessee DUI Resources
- Tennessee DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Tennessee.
- Tennessee DUI Classes – Get signed up for your dui class now.
- Tennessee SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about Tennessee SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Tennessee SR22 insurance.
- Tennessee DUI Laws & Lawyers – Contact one of our Tennessee DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case. Also find out information regarding Tennessee DUI Laws.
- Tennessee Bail Bond Agents – Contact an Tennessee bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- Tennessee Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.