Wyoming First Offense DUI Laws
The State of Wyoming enforces an implied consent law, which means that just by driving on Wyoming roads, you are consenting to provide a blood, breath, or urine sample if asked to do so in order to determine whether or not you have been drinking and driving. Refusing to submit to such a test is a crime, and results in the suspension of driving privileges for up to 18 months.
If you do take the test, and it shows that your bodily alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 or higher, you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI). You can also be charged with a DUI if the test shows that your BAC was 0.05 or higher and there is other evidence that you were impaired while diving.
If you have been arrested for a DUI or other related offense, you should contact an experienced Wyoming DUI lawyer immediately. Wyoming DUI law is complicated, and you do not want to try to figure it out on your own. A good lawyer will make sure that you are treated fairly every step of the way.
Wyoming First Offense DUI Penalties:
If you are charged with DUI, and you haven’t been charged with an alcohol-related driving offense in the past 10 years, then this will be considered your "first offense".
When you are charged with a first offense DUI, you face two separate processes: administrative and criminal.
When you are arrested, the police will give you a temporary driver’s license, which is good for 30 days. This document will also include information about how to contest your administrative case. You only have 20 days to request an administrative hearing. These hearings can usually be done over the phone.
If your BAC is found to be 0.08 or higher, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. This is called the Administrative Per Se Suspension, and it begins as soon as your 30 day temporary license expires. The Administrative Per Se Suspension is entirely separate from whatever happens in court. (However, if you are convicted in court, the amount of time that your license has been suspended will be counted toward your criminal license suspension.)
Before the DMV will reinstate your driver's license following your suspension you will be required to complete an SR22 filing with them. You can obtain an SR22 insurance policy and filing by entering your zip code below and completing the short form on the following page:
In order to get your driver's license back, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee and purchase SR22 insurance.
If you are convicted in court, you face up to $750 in fines and up to 6 months in the county jail. You will also have to pay a fee to a victims compensation fund. You will also have to pay for court costs. The court will also order you to have an Addiction Severity Index evaluation, and to undergo alcohol treatment.
If your BAC was 0.15 or higher, the courts may also order you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle(s).
Wyoming Work Permit:
If this is your first offense DUI with no aggravating factors, you may be eligible for a conditional driver’s permit. (If you have already had a conditional permit within the last 5 years, you are not eligible for another one.) A work permit allows you to drive to and from work and school.
Wyoming and SR22 Insurance:
Wyoming requires DUI offenders to file an SR22 form with the State to indicate proof of future financial responsibility. The SR22 form is provided by your auto insurance company once you purchase an SR22 insurance policy.
You will be required to carry SR22 insurance for 3 years, so it’s important that you find a policy you can live with. You can compare competitive SR22 insurance rates by entering your zip code here:
Other Wyoming DUI Resources
Wyoming DUI Laws - A complete overview of Wyoming DUI laws including fines, jail time and penalties for each offense.
Wyoming SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Wyoming SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your WY SR22 insurance.
Wyoming DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Wyoming DUI lawyers today.
Wyoming Substance Abuse Assessment - We offer a complete listing of Wyoming state approved substance abuse assessment & alcohol treatment programs.