Wyoming DUI Laws & Penalties
Wyoming DUI law is best described by defined by § 31-5-233, W.S. which states that it is illegal for a person to drive or have actual physical control of any vehicle within the state of Wyoming if the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more or to a degree which renders him incapable of safely driving.
Wyoming DUI cases have a look back period of 5 years. This means that if you are convicted of a WY DUI and then within a five year period are convicted again, the latter will be treated as a second offense with harsher penalties, fines, jail time, drivers license suspensions, etc...
A Wyoming DUI charge means you are facing the loss of your driver’s license for at least ninety days. If you are facing a Wyoming DUI, make sure to get the help of a qualified and aggressive DUI lawyer. This lawyer will help protect your right to drive, helping you to get restricted licenses to drive to work whenever possible. Make sure that the lawyer you select only defends DUI cases.
You are facing a court case and a Wyoming Department of Transportation case when you are charged with Wyoming DUI. Each case carries its own penalties. The Department of Transportation will focus on loss of driving privileges while the courts will focus on jail time and fines. You need a lawyer when you head to court, because Wyoming DUI laws are tough. They do not allow plea bargaining at all, so your lawyer will need to prove that there is reasonable doubt as to your guilt.
What it Takes To Get Convicted of Wyoming DUI
You can be arrested in Wyoming for DUI based on two methods. The most commonly understood method is for violating BAC (blood alcohol concentration) laws. If your blood alcohol concentration is .08% or higher, you will be considered in violation of Wyoming DUI per se laws. However, even if your levels are lower than .08% you can still be arrested. The officer will look at your driving pattern, physical appearance, and performance on the field sobriety test(s) that the officer administers on the side of the road when stopped. These signs can indicate enough influence of alcohol for an arrest even if the BAC level is less than .08%.
Possible Fines and Penalties
In Wyoming DUI cases your fines and punishments are based not only on your current crime, but also on your past DUI history. The look back period in Wyoming is five years.
Here is what you can expect to face:
Wyoming DUI First Offense DUI
- Between $200 and $750 in fines
- Drivers license suspended for 90 days
Wyoming DUI Second Offense DUI
- Between $200 and $750 in fines
- Drivers license suspended for 1 year
- Jail time of 7 days to 6 months
Wyoming DUI Third Offense DUI
- Between $750 and $3000 in fines
- Jail time of 30 days to 6 months
- Drivers license revocation for 3 years
Wyoming DUI Attorneys
DUI Arrest Help.com has compiled a list of skilled DUI defense attorneys in Wyoming who have agreed to offer you a free initial consultation to discuss your case. There is no obligation to use them, and you can get some great information about what you should do in this free consultation.
Click here to speak with one of our Wyoming DUI lawyers.
Insurance Considerations for a Wyoming DUI
SR-22 insurance is required in the state of Wyoming after a DUI conviction. This type of insurance is classified as 'high risk' meaning you are a higher risk to the insurance companies so consequently they will charge more for taking on more risk. This can get very expensive if you sign up for one of these policies with the wrong company.
DUI Arrest Help.com has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of Wyoming and has worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.
You won't be able to find a cheaper SR22 insurance policy in Wyoming for any less. Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.
Other Wyoming DWI Resources
Wyoming DUI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Wyoming.
Wyoming SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Wyoming SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your WY SR22 insurance.
Wyoming DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Wyoming DUI lawyers today.
Wyoming Substance Abuse Assessment - We offer a complete listing of Wyoming state approved substance abuse assessment & alcohol treatment programs.