SC SR22 Insurance
Find out what requirements you must meet if you need an SR22 for South Carolina & Find the Lowest Price Policies
The State of South Carolina requires DUI offenders to buy SR22 insurance as a condition for driver’s license reinstatement. When you buy SR22 insurance, your insurance company provides an SR22 form, which needs to be filed with the DMV. (Click here to see a sample SR22 form.)
This SR22 form proves to the DMV that you have liability insurance, and they will keep this form on file. (A South Carolina SR22 requirement lasts for 3 years.) If, for any reason, your SR22 coverage is interrupted, the policy requires your insurance company to notify the DMV by filing an SR26 form. You do not want this to happen.
A Rhode Island SR22 requirement usually lasts for 3 years. If, at any time, for any reason, your SR22 policy is allowed to lapse, the policy itself requires your insurance company to notify the State by filing an SR26 form. You want to avoid this at all costs!
How to Get South Carolina SR22 Insurance
When faced with an SR22 requirement, you really have two options. You can contact your current insurance company and ask them if they will add an SR22 rider to your current policy. Or, you can invest some time and effort in “shopping around” for a better rate than your current company is likely to give you.
We can help you with this second option. We have already helped thousands of drivers to save money on their SR22 insurance, and we would be happy to assist you.
How to Get Your South Carolina Driver’s License Back
If your driver’s license has been suspended because of a DUI, you will need to do the following things in order to get your driver’s license reinstated:
- Pay a reinstatement fee.
- Buy SR22 insurance and file an SR22 form with the DMV.
- Complete an ADSAP program.
- Possibly install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
South Carolina Ignition Interlock Law
If you have been convicted of a second or subsequent DUI, and you want to get your driver’s license reinstated, you may elect to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed. Then bring the certificate of installation to the DMV and request an IID Driver’s License.
Once you have your IID Driver’s License, you can drive legally, as long as you are driving a vehicle equipped with an IID. You will need to return to your interlock vendor once every 60 days to have the information stored on the device downloaded.
You do not have to participate in the interlock program, but if you opt not to, your driving privileges will remain suspended for an additional 3 years.
There are currently three IID vendors in South Carolina:
- Smart Start – 1-800-880-3394
- LifeSafer Interlock – 1-888-861-1172
- Guardian Interlock – 1-800-499-0994
For More Information:
Still have questions? You can contact the South Carolina DMV directly at 803-896-5000
Additional South Carolina DUI Resources
- South Carolina DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in South Carolina.
- South Carolina DUI Classes – Get signed up for your dui class now.
- South Carolina SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about South Carolina SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your South Carolina SR22 insurance.
- South Carolina DUI Laws & Lawyers – Contact one of our South Carolina DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case. Also find out information regarding South Carolina DUI Laws.
- South Carolina Bail Bond Agents – Contact an South Carolina bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- South Carolina Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.