North Carolina DWI law was changed in 1983 by the North Carolina General Assembly by the Safe Roads Act. The Safe Roads Act repealed all previous NC DWI laws and enacted what is now referred to as North Carolina DWI laws. This new law is similar to other states in that it includes the (2) charges, the driving while impaired and an additional charge commonly referred to as the 'per se' law.
A North Carolina DWI can be proven in one of two ways:
If a North Carolina police officer charges you with a DWI, you will be *asked to take a chemical test of your breath or blood. If you refuse to perform any required test, your drivers license will be immediately revoked for at least 30 days and the DMV will revoke your driving privileges for a minimum of 12 months. The judge may allow a limited driving privilege after (6) months of the revocation due to the refusal.
If your chemical test results in an alcohol concentration of .08% or more (for CDL drivers, .04% or more), your driving privileges will be revoked immediately for a minimum of 30 days. Additionally, the results of your chemical test or the fact that you refused to take the test will be admissible as evidence in court.
After a DWI offense the NC DMV takes administrative action against your driving privileges, this is a separate action from the North Carolina court system. In order to reinstate your drivers license after the administrative revocation by the NC DMV you'll have to complete the following:
If you're facing a NC DWI charge don't make the mistake of trying to represent yourself or worse just pleading guilty. DWI defense is a complex part of the law and requires a skilled attorney who has represented clients in similar situations. You want to speak with only those attorneys who ONLY handle DWI cases- a specialist.
DUI Arrest Help.com has compiled a list of skilled dui defense attorneys in North Carolina who have agreed to offer you a free initial consultation to discuss your case. There is no obligation to use them, and you can get some great information about what you should do.
Click here to speak with one of our North Carolina DWI lawyers.
North Carolina DWI law requires that those convicted must maintain high risk auto insurance for a period of 3 years after they get their driving privileges back. High risk auto insurance in North Carolina is referred to as a SR-22 insurance policy.
DUI Arrest Help.com has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of North Carolina and has worked out a special discount only available here to our website visitors.
You won't be able to find a cheaper SR22 insurance policy in North Carolina for any less. Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.
North Carolina DWI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DWI in North Carolina.
North Carolina SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about North Carolina SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your NC SR22 insurance.
North Carolina DWI Lawyers - Contact one of our North Carolina DWI lawyers today.
North Carolina DWI Services - We offer a complete listing of North Carolina's approved DWI assessment & ADETS locations.