Texas SR22 Insurance
Find out what requirements you must meet if you need an SR22 for Texas & Find the Lowest Price Policies
If your Texas driver’s license has been suspended or revoked due to a DWI, the law requires you to file and maintain a form SR22 with the Department of Public Safety.
The only way to get an SR22 form is to buy a liability policy that provides it. This type of policy is nicknamed, appropriately, “SR22 insurance.”
The SR22 form is a certificate of insurance. It proves to the DPS that you are insured and will be financially responsible in the event of a future incident. As long as the DPS has that form on file, they know that you are covered.
If, for any reason, your insurance is cancelled or interrupted, the SR22 requires your insurance company to notify the DPS. If this happens, your driver’s license and your vehicle registration may be suspended.
SR22 insurance is required for 2 years from the date of your conviction.
If you do not own a vehicle, you will need to purchase a non-owner SR22 policy.
How to Get Texas SR22 Insurance
Your SR22 form must be filed by an insurance company that is currently licensed through the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance. We have partnered with the best of these to bring you the best SR22 insurance options in Tennessee.
How to Get Your Texas Driver’s License Back
To get your Texas driver’s license reinstated after a DWI, you need to:
- Buy SR22 insurance and file an SR22 form with the DPS.
- Pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
- Complete a DWI education program.
You can check your reinstatement eligibility and pay your reinstatement fees online.
Texas Ignition Interlock Law
First time DWI offenders with a BAC greater than 0.15, and subsequent DWI offenders, are required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. These drivers will be restricted to interlock driving for 1 year following their suspension.
Those drivers applying for an occupational license may also be required to install an ignition interlock device.
For More Information:
Still have questions? You can contact Texas Driver License Customer Service directly at 512-424-2600 (512-424-7181 for Spanish), Monday through Friday, 7:30 to 6:00.
Additional Texas DWI Resources
- Texas DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Texas.
- Texas DUI Classes – Get signed up for your dui class now.
- Texas SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about Texas SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Texas SR22 insurance.
- Texas DUI Laws & Lawyers – Contact one of our Texas DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case. Also find out information regarding Texas DUI Laws.
- Texas Bail Bond Agents – Contact an Texas bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- Texas Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.