Google+ Twitter Linkedin

Tennessee DUI Laws & Penalties

Tennessee DUI

Tennessee DUI law defines drunk driving or driving under the influence as the operation of a motor vehicle on any freeway, public road, street alley, etc… while under the influence of alcohol or drugs (legal prescription drugs or illegal substances) and/or operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater.

By operating a vehicle with a BAC of .08% or greater you are violating what's referred to as the Tennessee per se law.

The state of Tennessee will ’look back’ on prior DUI convictions for a period of up to 10 years when determining which number offense you are being charged with. So any additional offenses within a 10 year period will result in a multiple offense. 

Here is what you can expect as far as punishments for DUI offenses in Tennessee:

Punishments for a Tennessee DUI Offense

Tennessee DUI First Offense

  • Jail:  48 hours
  • Fines:  $350 - $1,500
  • Drivers License Suspension:  1 year (eligible for restricted driving privileges)
  • DUI School:  Alcohol assessment /evaluation and treatment

Tennessee DUI Second Offense

  • Jail:  Minimum jail sentence 45 days up to 11 months 29 days.
  • Fines:  $600 - $3,500
  • Drivers License Suspension:  suspended for 1 year (no restricted driving privileges)
  • DUI School:  Alcohol assessment /evaluation and treatment

Tennessee DUI Third Offense

  • Jail:  Minimum jail sentence of 120 days up to 11 months 29 days.
  • Fines:  $600 - $10,000
  • Drivers License Suspension:  minimum 3 year suspension, max 10 years (no restricted driving privileges)
  • DUI School:  Alcohol assessment /evaluation and treatment
  • Ignition interlock system

Notes:

*The look back period on Tennessee DUI offenses is 10 years, meaning if you get 2 DUI offenses within a 10 year period the latter will be classified as a 2nd offense.

*Vehicle forfeiture in Tennessee is authorized at the 2nd TN DUI offense and each recurring incident thereafter.

Tennessee DUI Attorneys

DUI Arrest Help.com has compiled a list of skilled DUI defense attorneys in Tennessee who have agreed to offer you a free initial consultation to discuss your case.  There is no obligation to use them, and you can get some great information about what you should do in this free consultation.  

Click here to speak with one of our Tennessee DUI lawyers.

Insurance Considerations for a Tennessee DUI

SR-22 insurance is required in the state of Tennessee after a DUI conviction.  This type of insurance is classified as 'high risk' meaning you are a higher risk to the insurance companies so consequently they will charge more for taking on more risk.  This can get very expensive if you sign up for one of these policies with the wrong company.

DUI Arrest Help.com has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of Tennessee and has worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.

You won't be able to find a cheaper SR22 insurance policy in Tennessee for any less.  Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.

Get an Instant SR22 Insurance Quote and Filing Now!
Zip Code:

Other Tennessee DUI Resources

  • Tennessee DUI First Offense -  Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Tennessee.

  • Tennessee SR22 Insurance -  Learn everything you need to know about Tennessee SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your TN SR22 insurance.

  • Tennessee DUI Lawyers -   Contact one of our Tennessee DUI lawyers today.

  • Tennessee DUI Schools - We offer a complete listing of state approved Tennessee DUI school programs.