Nevada First Offense DUI
Nevada First Offense DUI Laws Explained in Easy to Understand Simple Terms
In Nevada, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. If you are caught driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle with this high of a BAC, you will be charged with a DUI. You can also be charged with a DUI if it is apparent that alcohol is affecting your driving, even if your BAC is lower than 0.08.
Nevada has an implied consent law, which means that you cannot, by law, refuse to submit to a blood alcohol test if asked to so. It also means that law enforcement can use “reasonable force” to obtain blood samples from someone suspected of drinking and driving. Penalties for violating the implied consent law can be more serious than DUI penalties.
If you have been arrested on a first offense DUI charge, the best thing you can do for yourself is to hire an experienced Nevada DUI attorney. Nevada DUI laws are complicated, and the penalties are stiff. A DUI arrest and/or conviction will remain on your criminal record and your DMV record for the rest of your life. It is important that you have someone knowledgeable to guide you through this process and help you put it behind you.
Nevada First Offense DUI Penalties
In Nevada, there are two separate sets of penalties for a DUI offense: criminal penalties and driver license penalties.
Driver license penalties for a first offense DUI in Nevada include:
- License revocation for 90 days
- $120 reinstatement fee
- $35 victims compensation civil penalty
- $22 driver license fee
- Possible vision test
- Possible written knowledge test
- Driving skills test (if a license has been revoked for more than 1 year)
- SR22 insurance (proof of financial responsibility) requirement
Criminal penalties for a first offense DUI in Nevada include:
- Vehicle impoundment
- 2 days to 6 months in jail
- Community service
- $400 to $1000 fine
- $60 chemical test fee
- DUI school or substance abuse treatment (Click here for a list of Nevada approved DUI schools and programs.)
- Victim impact panel
- Possible ignition interlock requirement
If you have further questions, you can contact the Nevada DMV via their online contact form or by calling any of the following numbers:
Las Vegas 702-486-4368
Reno/Carson City 775-684-4368
Rural areas 877-368-7828
TDD hearing impaired 775-684-4904
Nevada SR22 Insurance Requirement
If you are arrested for a first offense DUI in Nevada, you will be required to carry Nevada SR22 insurance for a period of 3 years from the date of your license reinstatement. SR22 insurance provides you with a certificate of liability insurance that you must file with the Nevada DMV. If you fail to maintain SR22 insurance, your insurance company will file an SR26 with the DMV, and the DMV will suspend your driver’s license again.
Additional Nevada DUI Resources
- Nevada DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Nevada.
- Nevada DUI Classes – Get signed up to complete your required DUI class online today.
- Nevada SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about Nevada SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Nevada SR22 insurance.
- Nevada DUI Lawyers – Contact one of our Nevada DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.
- Nevada Bail Bond Agents – Contact an Nevada bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- Nevada Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.