New Hampshire First DUI
New Hampshire First Offense Laws Explained in Easy to Understand Simple Terms
In the State of New Hampshire, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle when you are under the influence of alcohol. If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher, you will be charged with a DUI.
New Hampshire has an implied consent law, which means that by driving in New Hampshire, you are agreeing to submit to a blood or breath alcohol test if asked to so. Refusing to submit to a test carries heavy penalties.
If you have been arrested for a first offense refusing to submit or a first offense DUI, you will want to contact a qualified and experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible. All of our DUI lawyers offer a free consultation, so after only an hour, you will know more about your case and your options. New Hampshire DUI law is complicated, and you want to have an expert on your side, working for you.
New Hampshire First Offense DUI
A New Hampshire DUI offense carries two separate sets of penalties: administrative and criminal.
When you are arrested for a first offense DUI, you will automatically receive an Administrative License Suspension for 6 months. If you are then also convicted in court, your driver’s license may also be revoked by the judge, for 9 months to 2 years. However, even if you receive two suspensions, you will only have to serve the longer of the two.
Other court-ordered penalties for a first offense DUI include:
- $620 fine
- Possible jail time
- Impaired Driver Intervention Program: this 20 hour program costs approximately $500. Click here for a list of approved Impaired Driver Intervention Programs (IDIP).
- SR22 insurance requirement
Factors that could cause your first offense DUI to be considered an “aggravated DUI” include:
- Driving more than 30 mph over the speed limit.
- Eluding law enforcement (speeding up, turning off headlights, etc.)
- Having a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle.
- Causing an accident that results in bodily injury to yourself or someone else.
An aggravated first offense DUI for reasons 1, 2, and 3 carries additional penalties, including:
- $750 fine
- 3 days to 1 year in jail
- Mandatory ignition interlock
If your aggravating factor is causing serious bodily injury, then your penalties could include:
- $1000 to $4000 fine
- 14 days to 7 years in jail
- Mandatory ignition interlock
New Hampshire First Offense DUI and Ignition Interlock:
New Hampshire does have an ignition interlock program for repeat DUI offenders. However, if this is your first DUI offense, and there were no aggravating factors, it is unlikely that you will be required to install an ignition interlock device.
New Hampshire SR22 Insurance
SR22 insurance is proof of future financial responsibility. The State of New Hampshire does not require everyone to have their vehicles fully insured; however, if the State considers you a high risk driver, that rule changes. If you lose your license because of a DUI, the State will require you to carry auto insurance. To prove to the State that you are fully insured, you must file an SR22 form, which is provided by your insurance company. SR22 insurance can be expensive, so you want to make sure that you compare the most competitive rates.
Additional New Hampshire DUI Resources
- New Hampshire DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in New Hampshire.
- New Hampshire DUI Classes – Get signed up to complete your required DUI class online today.
- New Hampshire SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about New Hampshire SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your New Hampshire SR22 insurance.
- New Hampshire DUI Lawyers – Contact one of our New Hampshire DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.
- New Hampshire Bail Bond Agents – Contact an New Hampshire bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- New Hampshire Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.