Oklahoma First Offense DUI
Oklahoma First Offense DUI Laws Explained in Easy to Understand Simple Terms
In Oklahoma a DUI is defined under title 47 of the Oklahoma statute § 47-11-902 v1 . There are a few different drunk driving violations available in OK including DUI, DWI and a unique
In Oklahoma, it is illegal to drive or be in physical control of a vehicle if your blood alcohol level (BAC) is 0.08 or higher. If you are caught driving with a BAC of 0.08 or higher, you will be charged with a DUI. You can also be convicted of Impaired Driving if your BAC is over 0.05, if the prosecutor can prove that your ability to drive was affected by alcohol.
Oklahoma has an Implied Consent Law, which means that just by driving in Oklahoma, you agree to submit to one or more chemical alcohol tests if asked to do so by law enforcement. Refusing to submit to a test is a crime, one that carries significant penalties.
If you have been arrested for violating the Implied Consent Law, DUI, or Impaired Driving, and have not already done so, you will probably want to contact a qualified Oklahoma DUI lawyer. Oklahoma DUI law is convoluted, and you will be far better off if you have an expert to help you navigate through it.
He or she can explain your options to you and help you make the best possible decisions. All of our DUI attorneys offer a free consultation, so in a short amount of time, you can have a much better understanding of your situation.
Oklahoma First Offense DUI Penalties
When you are arrested for a DUI, if your BAC is 0.08 or higher, your driver’s license will be automatically revoked, even if you are not later convicted of a DUI in court. If you have not been convicted of an alcohol-related offense in the past 10 years, then this will be considered your first offense.
You have 15 days to contest your revocation with the Department of Public Safety. You may be able to get your revocation modified to a limited driving privilege with an ignition interlock restriction.
If you are found guilty of a first offense Impaired Driving, you face the following penalties:
- $100 to $500 fine
- up to 6 months in jail
- 30 day suspension of your driver’s license
If you are found guilty of a first offense DUI, you face the following penalties:
- $1,000 fine
- 10 days to 1 year in jail
- 180 day suspension of your driver’s license
If your BAC is higher than 0.15, you could be charged with Aggravated Driving. This charge brings additional penalties, including an ignition interlock requirement.
If there was a child in the vehicle at the time of your DUI, you could be charged with Child Endangerment. If convicted of Child Endangerment, you could face a $5,000 fine and up to 4 years in jail.
Oklahoma SR22 Insurance
Many states require those convicted of a first offense DUI to purchase SR22 insurance. SR22 insurance is a special auto insurance policy for high-risk drivers. At this time, Oklahoma does not require SR22 insurance after a DUI. However, you should still prepare for an increase in the cost of your auto insurance.
Additional Oklahoma DUI Resources
- Oklahoma DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Oklahoma.
- Oklahoma DUI Classes – Get signed up to complete your required DUI class online today.
- Oklahoma SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about Oklahoma SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Oklahoma SR22 insurance.
- Oklahoma DUI Lawyers – Contact one of our Oklahoma DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.
- Oklahoma Bail Bond Agents – Contact an Oklahoma bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- Oklahoma Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.