Utah First Offense DUI
Utah First Offense DUI Laws Explained in Easy to Understand Simple Terms
In Utah, it is illegal to drive or be in physical control of a vehicle if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. If you are caught doing so, you will be arrested for a DUI. It is important to note that one does not have to be actually driving to be arrested for DUI. Recently, a man was arrested while sleeping in his car with this feet hanging out the window, but the courts decided he was in physical control of the vehicle.
Utah has an implied consent law, which means that if you are operating a car, truck, bicycle, boat, etc. in the State, you are agreeing to submit to a blood alcohol test if asked to do so by law enforcement. This chemical test may require you to provide a breath, blood, urine, or saliva sample, and if you refuse to do so, you will be charged with a crime.
If you have been arrested for a DUI, you should contact an experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible. Utah DUI law is complicated, and you do not want to try to go it alone, especially if this is your first offense. Lawyers who specialize in DUI defense truly know the law.
Utah First Offense DUI Penalties
When you are arrested for a DUI, law enforcement may impound your vehicle. You will have to pay for towing and storage in order to get your vehicle out of impoundment. This can cost about $250. If you do not get your vehicle within an allotted amount of time, it may be sold.
If you are charged with a first offense DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended for 120 days. In order to get your license reinstated, you will have to pay a $65 reinstatement fee and purchase SR22 insurance.
If convicted of a DUI in court, you may be fined up to $1,000. You may also face 48 hours to 6 months in jail. You may also be responsible for court costs. You may also have to pay $100 to a victims reparation fund.
If you are convicted of a first offense DUI, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. You will be restricted to interlock driving for 18 months. You will be responsible for the cost of this program.
You will also be considered an Alcohol Restricted Driver for 2 years. (Utah did away with the “No-Alcohol Conditional License” in 2005.) An Alcohol Restricted Driver is not allowed to drive with any alcohol at all in his or her system.
Utah SR22 Insurance
SR22 insurance is “proof of future financial responsibility”. SR22 insurance is a special policy that requires an insurance company to file an SR22 form with the Utah Department of Public Safety. This form proves that you, as a “high-risk driver”, are insured and will be financially responsible if there is an accident in the future.
You must carry SR22 insurance for three years following the date your suspension. If your SR22 policy is allowed to lapse for any reason during this time, your insurance company is required by law to notify the DPS.
If you have questions about Utah SR22 insurance requirements, you can contact the Driver License Division of the DPS at 801-965-4437.
Additional Utah DUI Resources
- Utah DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Utah.
- Utah DUI Classes – Get signed up to complete your required DUI class online today.
- Utah SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about Utah SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Utah SR22 insurance.
- Utah DUI Lawyers – Contact one of our Utah DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.
- Utah Bail Bond Agents – Contact an Utah bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
- Utah Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.