Vermont DUI Laws & Penalties

Vermont Drunk Driving Laws Explained in Easy to Understand Simple Terms

Vermont DUI is defined by title 23 of the Vermont law statutes 23 V.S.A. § 1201 which prohibits Operating vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor or other substance; or criminal refusal.

Summary of Title 23 Vermont DUI Law:

§ 1201. Operating vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor or other substance; criminal refusal

(a) A person shall not operate, attempt to operate, or be in actual physical control of any vehicle on a highway:

(1) when the person’s alcohol concentration is 0.08 or more, or 0.02 or more if the person is operating a school bus as defined in subdivision 4(34) of this title; or

(2) when the person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor; or

(3) when the person is under the influence of any other drug or under the combined influence of alcohol and any other drug to a degree which renders the person incapable of driving safely; or

(4) when the person’s alcohol concentration is 0.04 or more if the person is operating a commercial motor vehicle as defined in subdivision 4103(4) of this title.

If you are arrested for Vermont DUI, you need to take immediate action. If you do not request a Department of Motor Vehicles hearing, you will lose your driver’s license. Contact a qualified attorney to help you request this hearing. In Vermont DUI cases, arrestees not only face the DMV hearing, but they also face a criminal court appearance. 

Proving Guilt in Vermont Drunk Driving Cases

In Vermont DUI cases, drunk driving can be proven two ways. On way is to show that the driver was unable to drive properly due to being impaired by the consumption of alcohol. In other words, if your driving pattern, performance on the field sobriety test, or physical appearance indicates that you are drunk, you can be convicted. The other way is through the state’s per se laws, which state that no matter how well you are driving, you are guilty of Vermont DUI if your blood alcohol content is .08% or higher. 

Fines and Penalties

In Vermont DUI cases, the court is allowed to look back on your history. There is no limit on how far back your history goes in Vermont, so if you have ever been charged with DUI in any state, it will increase your penalties. Here is what you can expect to be given as punishment for driving drunk in Vermont: 

Vermont First Offense DUI Penalties

  • Jail time up to 2 years
  • Up to $750 in fines
  • Drivers license suspension for 6 months
  • Alcohol and drug rehabilitation and education program

Vermont Second Offense DUI Penalties

  • Up to 2 years in jail
  • Up to $1500 in fines
  • 200 hours of community service
  • Drivers license suspension for 18 months
  • Alcohol and drug rehabilitation and education program

All court costs and the fine to have your license reinstated will be your responsibility. Keep in mind, too, that your Vermont DUI will cause your insurance rate to go up (see below), and you may lose your existing insurance company if they do not offer SR22 insurance policies. If your Vermont DUI case involves injury or death to another person, your jail time and fines increase dramatically. 

Insurance Considerations for a Vermont DUI

SR-22 insurance is required in the state of Vermont after a DUI conviction.  This type of insurance is classified as ‘high risk‘ meaning you are a higher risk to the insurance companies so consequently they will charge more for taking on more risk.  This can get very expensive if you sign up for one of these policies with the wrong company.

DUI Arrest Help.com has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of Vermont and has worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.

You won’t be able to find a cheaper SR22 insurance policy in Vermont for any less.

Additional Vermont DUI Resources
  • Vermont DUI First Offense – Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Vermont.
  • Vermont DUI Classes – Get signed up to complete your required DUI class online today.
  • Vermont SR22 Insurance – Learn everything you need to know about Vermont SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your Vermont SR22 insurance.
  • Vermont DUI Lawyers – Contact one of our Vermont DUI lawyers today to discuss your pending DUI case.
  • Vermont Bail Bond Agents – Contact an Vermont bail bond agent to get out of jail now.
  • Vermont Non-owner Insurance – If you need an SR-22 filing, but don’t own a vehicle, you need to get a non-owner policy.