Utah DUI Laws & Penalties
A Utah DUI is defined by the Utah DUI statute § 41-6a-502 which prohibits operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both with specified or an unsafe blood alcohol concentration.
If you If you are arrested for a Utah DUI you will have to fight for your drivers license in 2 separate places; the Utah court and the Utah Drivers License Division (DLD). If you don't win both of these appearances, you will lose your driver’s license and driving privileges. Keep in mind that you only have ten calendar days to request the hearing with the Driver’s License Division for your Utah DUI. You should contact an attorney to ensure that you request this hearing properly.
Here is what you can expect as far as punishments for DUI offenses in Utah:
Refusing the Utah DUI Blood Alcohol Test
Utah is an implied consent state meaning that you agree to consent to a blood alcohol test should one be requested of you. You do still have the right to refuse to take the blood alcohol content test, but if you refuse you will automatically lose your license for ninety (90) days.
Punishments for a Utah DUI Offense
A Utah DUI carries strict penalties. Remember that your penalties are affected by how many past DUI arrests you have. The court will consider any DUI 's on your record for the past ten years (the Utah look back period is 10 years). Here are the punishments you could face for the different Utah DUI offenses.
Utah DUI First Offense
- 2 days of jail time, community service, or house arrest
- $700 fine minimum
- Alcohol assessment/treatment and education
- Ignition interlock device is possible depending on specific case details
- Driver license suspension for 90 days to 2 years
- Fines: $350 - $1,500
- Drivers License Suspension: 1 year (eligible for restricted driving privileges)
- DUI Driving School: Alcohol assessment /evaluation and treatment
Utah DUI Second Offense
- 240 hours jail time, community service, or house arrest
- Minimum fine of $800
- Alcohol assessment/treatment and education
- Ignition interlock system for minimum 3 years
- Drivers license suspension for 90 days up to 2 years
Utah DUI Third Offense
- Third offense DUI in Utah is considered a felony offense
- Up to 5 years jail time
- Possible house arrest
- Minimum $1500 fine
- Intensive alcohol assessment and treatment
- Ignition interlock system for 3 years
- Driver license suspension for 90 days to 3 years
When you face a Utah DUI charge, you will be responsible for all costs associated with your case, including the rental of the ignition interlock device, court costs, and fees to get your license back. On top of these fees, your Utah DUI will require you to file an SR-22 insurance policy with the Utah DMV.
Utah Driver License
Attn: DUI Section
P.O. Box 30560
Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0560
Utah DUI Attorneys
DUI Arrest Help.com has compiled a list of skilled DUI defense attorneys in Utah who have agreed to offer you a free initial consultation to discuss your case. There is no obligation to use them, and you can get some great information about what you should do in this free consultation.
Click here to speak with one of our Utah DUI lawyers.
Insurance Considerations for a Utah DUI
SR-22 insurance is required in the state of Utah after a DUI conviction. This type of insurance is classified as 'high risk' meaning you are a higher risk to the insurance companies so consequently they will charge more for taking on more risk. This can get very expensive if you sign up for one of these policies with the wrong company.
DUI Arrest Help.com has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of Utah and has worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.
You won't be able to find a cheaper SR22 insurance policy in Utah for any less. Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.
Other Utah DUI Resources
Utah DUI First Offense - Detailed first offense information including punishments after a first offense DUI in Utah.
Utah SR22 Insurance - Learn everything you need to know about Utah SR22 filing requirements with the DMV and find out how you can save hundreds of dollars each year on your UT SR22 insurance.
Utah DUI Lawyers - Contact one of our Utah DUI lawyers today.
Utah DUI Education Programs - We offer a complete listing of state approved Utah DUI education programs.