DUI Laws - State DUI Laws Explained In Simple Terms

If you have been arrested on a drunk driving charge, it is very important that you learn your state DUI laws so that you are more informed about the consequences that you face and the possible outcomes in your case.

DUI laws vary from state to state and the penalties that someone faces also vary greatly depending on the charges and whether or not it was a first time DUI offense, subsequent DUI offense, habitual offense, misdemeanor or felony DUI. Every state including the District of Columbia have enacted the 'per se' law making it against the law to operate or drive a motor vehicle with a BAC level of 0.08% or greater.

The following is a state by state overview of the penalties and sanctions a person faces for being convicted of a first offense drunk driving charge. For more detailed information on a states drunk driving laws, including subsequent offenses, just click on the state link below:



  • Alabama:  Fine:  $600; Jail:  none; License suspended:  90 days; IID:  ≥ .15%; DUI class:  mandatory
  • Alaska:  Fine: $1,500, Jail: 3 days, License suspended: 90 days, IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Arizona:  Fine: $250, Jail: 24 hrs, License suspended: 90 days, IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Arkansas:  Fine: $150, Jail: 24 hrs, License suspended:6 months, IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • California:  Fine: $1,400, Jail: 4 days, License suspended: 30 days, IID: varies, DUI class: mandatory
  • Colorado:  Fine: $600, Jail: 5 days, License suspended: 9 months, IID: ≥ .174%, DUI class: mandatory
  • Connecticut:  Fine: $500, Jail: 2 days, License suspended: 1 year, IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Delaware:  Fine: $500, Jail: none, License suspended: 12 months, IID: required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Florida:  Fine: $500, Jail: none, License suspended: 180 days, IID: ≥ .15%, DUI class: mandatory
  • Georgia:  Fine: $300, Jail: 24 hrs, License suspended: 1 year max, IID:  none, DUI class: mandatory
  • Hawaii:  Fine: $150, Jail: none, License suspended: 30-90 days, IID:  required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Idaho:  Fine: $1,000, Jail: none, License suspended: 90-180 days, IID:  varies, DUI class: mandatory
  • Illinois:  Fine: $500, Jail: none, License suspended: 1 year, IID:  required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Indiana:  Fine: $500, Jail: 24 hrs, License suspended: 6 months, IID:  varies, DUI class: mandatory
  • Iowa:  Fine: $625, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 180 days, IID:  .varies, DUI class: mandatory
  • Kansas:  Fine: $500, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 30 days, IID:  required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Kentucky:  Fine: $200, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 30 days, IID:  varies, DUI class: mandatory
  • Louisiana:  Fine: $1,000, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  required DUI class: mandatory
  • Maine:  Fine: $400, Jail: none, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  varies, OUI class: mandatory
  • Maryland:  Fine: $500, Jail: none, License suspended: 6 months, IID: ≥ .15%, DUI class: mandatory
  • Massachusetts:  Fine: $500, Jail: none, License suspended: 1 year, IID:  none, DUI class: mandatory
  • Michigan:  Fine: $2,100, Jail: none, License suspended: 6 months, IID: ≥ .17%, DUI class: mandatory
  • Minnesota:  Fine: $1,000, Jail: none, License suspended: 6 months, IID:  none, DUI class: mandatory
  • Mississippi:  Fine: $250, Jail: none, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • Missouri:  Fine: $500, Jail: none, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • Montana:  Fine: $300, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 6 months, IID:  none, DUI class: mandatory
  • Nebraska:  Fine: $500, Jail: 7 days, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Nevada:  Fine: $400, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • New Hampshire:  Fine: $500, Jail: none, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  high BAC, DUI class: mandatory
  • New Jersey:  Fine: $3,730, Jail: none, License suspended: 90 days, IID: ≥ .15%, DUI class: mandatory
  • New Mexico:  Fine: $0, Jail: none, License suspended: 1 year max, IID:  required, DWI class: mandatory
  • New York:  Fine: $500, Jail: none, License suspended: 6 months, IID:  required, DWI class: mandatory
  • North Carolina:  Fine: $200, Jail: 24 hrs, License suspended: 60 days, IID: ≥ .15%, DWI class: mandatory
  • North Dakota:  Fine: $250, Jail: none, License suspended: 91 days, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • Ohio:  Fine: $250, Jail: 3 days, License suspended: 6 months, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • Oklahoma:  Fine: $0, Jail: 5 days, License suspended: 30 days, IID: ≥ .15%, DUI class: mandatory
  • Oregon:  Fine: $1,000, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • Pennsylvania:  Fine: $300, Jail: none, License suspended: Tier based, IID:  none, DUI class: mandatory
  • Rhode Island:  Fine: $600, Jail: none, License suspended: 30 days, IID:  none, DUI class: mandatory
  • South Carolina:  Fine: $400, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 6 months, IID:  none, DUI class: mandatory
  • South Dakota:  Fine: $1,000, Jail: none, License suspended: 30 days, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • Tennessee:  Fine: $350, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 1 year, IID: ≥ .15%, DUI class: mandatory
  • Texas:  Fine: $0, Jail: 3 days, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  .none, DWI class: mandatory
  • Utah:  Fine: $700, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 120 days, IID:  required, DUI class: mandatory
  • Vermont:  Fine: $750, Jail: none, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • Virginia:  Fine: $250, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 1 year, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • Washington:  Fine: $865, Jail: 24 hrs, License suspended: 90 days, IID:  required, DUI class: mandatory
  • DC:  Fine: $300, Jail: none, License suspended: 6 months, IID:  possible, DUI class: mandatory
  • West Virginia:  Fine: $100, Jail: 48 hrs, License suspended: 15 days, IID: ≥ .15%, DUI class: mandatory
  • Wisconsin:  Fine: $150, Jail: none, License suspended: 6 months, IID: ≥ .15%, OWI class: mandatory
  • Wyoming:  Fine: $250, Jail: none, License suspended: 90 days, IID: ≥ .15%, DUI class: mandatory

State by State penalty overviews:

DUI Vehicle Sanctions

A growing number of states will impose vehicle sanctions against a person accused of drunk driving. These sanctions can include an immediate impoundment of the vehicle upon being arrested for DUI. If your vehicle is impounded you will need to pay the towing charge and the daily impound fee with the towing company before your vehicle is released from the impound yard.

A large number of states allow for vehicle confiscation of repeat or habitual offenders. This means that if you are a repeat offender in one of these states, you can lose your vehicle. The following states allow vehicle confiscation: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin.

The DUI process can be extremely confusing and frustrating, especially for first time DUI offenders. The more informed you are from the start of the DUI process, by learning your states DUI laws and specifically what parts of the law pertain to you in your situation, the better off you will be in the end.

In addition to nationwide DUI laws this site also provides affordable SR22 insurance filings and SR22 information, DMV drivers license implications and restoration references. We can also help you find a qualified DUI Attorney to represent you in your pending DUI case.